COMM 101

Class Notes Summary

 

January 16, 2014 – John Thompson – I-COMM Introduction            

Brother Thompson came in to speak on what I-COMM was. He gave a summary on what it was, and then talked about the advertising agency run through BYUI called, the Soapbox Agency. This was really interesting to me because I love designing things, and putting all my ideas together, so I can totally see myself participating in one of these groups.

January 23, 2014 – Lane Williams – Journalism

Brother Williams’ topic was Journalism.  He argued that Journalism is not dying, but that it is just taking another form; he said that the need for writing is growing, just not necessarily in the newspaper form. A Journalist is the only job protected by the U.S. Constitution. While I really enjoyed Brother Williams’ presentation, and I learned a lot of new things that I had never heard before, I don’t think that journalism (really in any form) is for me.

January 30, 2014 – Caryn Epslin – Visual Media Emphasis

Sister Epslin’s topic was the Visual Media Emphasis. She said that there was five main categories that having a Visual Media emphasis would give you a basis on, and those were: Photography/Digital Imaging, Web design, Graphic Design, Social Media Marketing, and Videography. She talked about the importance of the ESV factor (efficient, skilled, and versatile.) She gave a list of things that you will need if you would like to get hired with any company. She talked about the importance of a Kloutscore, and she gave tips on how to choose which emphasis is best for you. Her last tip was to “make yourself indispensable.” I loved Sister Epslin’s presentation on the Visual Media emphasis.  It’s because of her presentation that I am planning on changing my emphasis. It seems like you can do so much more with a Visual Media Emphasis.

February 6, 2014 – Brian Howard – Video Production

Brother Howard’s topic was the Video Production Emphasis. He talked about where you can work with this degree, he also taught about what kinds of jobs are available, such as: videographer, broadcast journalist, basically any job that has anything to do with film. He talked about the importance of location when it comes to looking for a job. Video Production was actually my chosen emphasis because I would LOVE to be a videographer. However, when Brother Howard was talking about it, this emphasis just really didn’t interest me. I’d still love to be a videographer, but I think that will be more on the side. I am planning on changing my chosen emphasis to Visual Media, and making Video Production one of my modules.

February 13, 2014 – Ward Hicks – Public Relations/PRSSA

Brother Hicks’ topic was Public Relations. He explained how PR can be used for so many fields, and that the possibilities are pretty much endless with a PR degree. Talked about the importance of writing, in really any communications major, but especially with a PR emphasis. Talked about the R.A.C.E. process (research, action, communication, and evaluation.) Before Brother Hicks’ presentation, I really had no idea what Public Relations was, nor did I have any desire to have anything to do with it. But after, I realized that it was such a versatile skill to have, and I might actually like doing that as a career.

February 20, 2014 – Jeff Hochstrasser – Advertising

Brother Hochstrasser’s topic was advertising.  He showed a few commercials, and went over the different types of commercials. We watched an LDS video called “Create”, and it was narrated by Dieter F. Uchtdorf. He told us the creative formula for advertising (attention, interest, desire, credibility, and call to action.) While I enjoyed Brother Hochstrasser’s presentation, I really don’t see myself going into advertising.

February 27, 2014 – Tyler Christensen – Grad Plans

Brother Christensen’s topic was Grad Plans. He talked us through the process of creating our own 4-year grad plan online, and the importance of doing so. I had already completed my grad plan at the time, so it was kind of just a refresher class for me.

 March 6, 2014 – Sheila Wener – Internships

Sister Wener’s topic was internships. She talked through the whole process of finding an internship: finding an internship for you, getting it approved,  and where to look for internships. I was glad that Sister Wener talked about internships because I didn’t have any idea on anything to do with internships. She really explained everything well, and helped me understand what I what need to do to find and approve an internship.

March 13, 2014 – Shane Cole – Plagiarism and Ethics

Brother Cole’s topic was Plagiarism; he started his presentation with talking about when the first laws came about over people’s intellectual property and copyright laws. He talked about not just the moral reasons not to plagiarize, but the legal reasons as well. There was a lot that I didn’t know about plagiarism! I had no idea that because of copyright laws, things can fall into the public domain in just a few years!

Leave a Reply

