Visual Media

Project 1 Flier

Carissa Buys InDesign Flier2

 

Description:

Simplistic black and white flier to promote Vouant Communications’ upcoming Graduate Leadership Conference.

 

Process:

I used the FOCUS design process to guide my flier creation process. I formulated my design by determining the message I wanted to convey and the audience I wanted to reach. I then drew four separate sketches based off of the message and target audience. I then used Adobe InDesign to make one of my sketches come to life. I organized the space by using different sized boxes and I used the principle of alignment to place the boxes where they would be aesthetically pleasing. I added contrast to the design by using differing colors in my design. I added value by using contrasting font sizes so that different parts of the flier would catch the attention of the audience. I repeated the element of the square boxes and put them in places that would create a positive rhythm throughout the design. I then had my design evaluated by two different people who analyzed my design and offered suggestions how to make it more effective. I applied their suggestions and added more consistent alignment to my design.

 

Message:

The main message of this flier is to get students’ attention and invite them to sign up for the Graduate Leadership Conference.

 

Audience:

The audience of this flier was the graduating senior class.

 

Top Thing Learned:

The main thing I learned was how to properly use Adobe InDesign. It was challenging at first, and was extremely time consuming. As I continue to use it, I discovered that I was gaining a feel for it and able to apply my ideas effectively.

 

Title Font Name & Category:

I used two different fonts for the title:

Garamond Apple – Serif – Modern

Lemon/Milk – Sans serif

 

Copy Font Name & Category:

I used two different fonts for the copy:

Garamond Apple – Serif – Modern

Lemon/Milk – Sans serif

 

Links to images used in this project:

Logo

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Project 1 Flier

  1. I love your use of space. Everything is so evenly spread out, yet there is still plenty of white space. I don’t always like the look of having the dark shadow boxes on these fliers, but I think you did a good job with it. I also like your clean fonts to match and where you placed the logo. Here is another flier from our section that I also think had a nice balance of light and dark on their flier: https://katie7702.wordpress.com/

  2. Hello!
    I loved your flier! I really like how stylish and modern it looks.
    I really liked the combination of fonts you used, I think they work awesome together.
    The way you aligned the elements it’s also really nice; the use of negative space gives the flier an elegant look.

    I loved the contrast on your flier just as much as I loved the one in this project: https://visualeavitt.wordpress.com/
    Hopefully you can check it out!

Leave a Reply

