Digital Imaging

Depth of Field: Deep and Shallow

For the project, I really tried to add variety to my photos. I got most of my shots on campus and at Porter Park. I enlisted the help of my roommate Brooke for the first shot. I hardly edited the photos, mostly just using the adjustment tools. I found the shallow depth of field photos to be easier to take. I don’t know if that’s just because I like the way they look better. But I enjoyed taking shallow depth of field rather than deep depth of field.

EyeBHCarissa
Tired Eyes– 5/10/16 at 3:18 pm behind the Biddulph building at BYUI; Canon EOS Rebel T2i; Focal Length:25mm; SS:1/1300; f/stop:4.5; ISO:800

Edits: I cleared up blemishes and used the dodging/burning brush on the eye to make it pop. I also used the levels and curves adjustments, and I used the unsharp mask filter.

CarissaBuys-GivingTree
The Giving Tree– 5/10/16; 2:26 pm; In front of the Taylor-BYUI; Focal Length:18mm; SS:1/400; f/stop:3.5; ISO:200

Edits: I sharpened this image using the unsharp mask filter, and added some color the tree trunk with the hue/saturation tool. I also adjusted the levels, curves, and selective color tools.

BikeCarissa
Captain America’s Bike– 5/10/16; 2:38 pm; Outside of the Romney-BYUI; Canon EOS Rebel T2i; Focal Length:18mm; SS:1/1000; f/stop:3.5; ISO:100

Edits: I used the selective color tool to make the blue and red of the bike pop. I also sharpened the image using the unsharp mask filter.

CarissaBuys-Imagine
Imagine– 5/12/16 at 3:08 pm at Porter Park; Canon Rebel EOS T2i; Focal Length: 18mm; SS: 1/60; f/stop: 18; ISO: 1600

Edits: I sharpened this image with the unsharp mask filter.

CarissaBuys--Treeline
Treeline– 5/12/16 at 2:42 pm at Porter Park; Canon Rebel EOS T2i; Focal Length: 18mm; SS: 1/60; f/stop: 20; ISO:200

Edits: Selective color tool on the sky and the trees. I also sharpened this image with the unsharp mask filter.

One thought on “Depth of Field: Deep and Shallow

Leave a Reply

