Digital Imaging

Macro Photography: Close Up and Personal

 

Macro photography was a totally new thing for me. I had never tried it before this project, and let me tell you – it’s super frustrating at first. Using the macro extension tubes in class was difficult for me, and most of my pictures didn’t turn out. It was a challenge with the lighting, and my hands shake really bad making it nearly impossible to get a shot that wasn’t blurry. I did get one shot of the toy tiger’s mouth that I could use.

I wasn’t able to check out the extension tubes again and so I ended up renting out a Canon macro lens, 24 – 77mm (and a tripod, hallelujah) to get the remaining shots. I liked using the macro lens better than the extension tubes, but it still came along with its own set of challenges.

I took the remaining shots in my home, with all natural lighting.  I couldn’t decide which shots to include as the minimum four, so I chose seven of my favorites.

CarissaBuys-MouthoftheTiger
“It’s the MOUTH of the tiger…”

Edits: Unsharp mask, levels

CarissaBuys-RedLeader
Red leader

Edits: Unsharp mask, levels, and curves.

CarissaBuys-Red&Yellow
Red and yellow peppers

Edits: Unsharp mask, levels, selective color, and vibrance.

CarissaBuys-LukeR2D2
“Artoo, we’re not in Dagobah anymore…”

Edits: Unsharp mask, levels, curves, and selective color.

CarissaBuys-RedPepper
Red pepper

Edits: Unsharp mask, levels, curves, and selective color

CarissaBuys-ThisLittleLight
“This little light of mine…”

Edits: Unsharp mask

CarissaBuys-Watermelon
Watermelon

 

Edits: Unsharp Mask, levels, curves, and selective color

CarissaBuys-Duckling.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Macro Photography: Close Up and Personal

  1. Carissa, I love that you used legos! I was so tempted to borrow some of my husbands! haha, but I didn’t. I love the picture of Luke and R2D2 in the background, I think you composed that image very nicely! What a fun photoshoot!

    Feel free to check my blog out at: https://afisherinthesea.wordpress.com/2016/05/24/getting-a-little-closer-look/

    Bree did a great job to on this assignment, too: https://breedesignsblog.wordpress.com/category/digital-imaging/

    Here’s a link to Amazon if you are interested in purchasing some macro tubes for cheap, but good quality: http://www.amazon.com/FODSLR-Metal-Focus-Extension-Cameras/dp/B00PQ4WXKA/ref=sr_1_7?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1464150590&sr=1-7&keywords=canon+macro+extension+tubes

  2. I love the lego pictures. Well, I love legos for starters, but the up close pictures with the legos are really cool. Even though I am not a huge fan of watermelon, your watermelon picture might be my favorite one. I just love the texture and that water drop on the outside. This website has some cool tips on how to take creative pictures with Legos: http://captureyour365.com/how-to-photograph-a-lego/

Leave a Reply

